Home » Poetry » Fool’s Silence

Fool’s Silence

Silence like a burden
Upon my shoulders
Dark eyes like demons
To hunt me at night
I should have forgotten
It has been so long
I should have let go
Then why have I not
I have known others
My heart has moved on
And yet there are moments
When you are still there
That I watch you in secret
Behind my closed eyes
In that dark silence
When weakness prevails
I think of what had been
And what may be again
But I know I am foolish
And it is but a dream
Yet I think of you sometimes
Those dark eyes that pierced
My armour so completely
And wish they would again

Leave a Reply

